Eckert Law

REGULATION ON INACTIVE BANK ACCOUNTS AND CONSEQUENCES ON YOUR ASSETS HELD IN ACCOUNT

Since 1 January 2016, new obligations have been imposed on banks concerning the management of inactive bank accounts.

Law no. 2014-617 of 13 June 2014, known as the Eckert law, reinforces the legal framework for inactive bank accounts and provides that an account must be transferred to the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations after a period of inactivity of 10 years (3 years for deceased holders).

This new regulation introduces a definition of inactive accounts and imposes new obligations on banking institutions to identify bank accounts and inactive safe deposit boxes, on informing clients and their beneficiaries and organizing the deposit of assets to the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignments then their attribution to the State.

Any individual client (major, minor, protected major) and any corporate legal person (companies, associations, actors of the public economy) may be affected by this law.

In the event of inactivity of your accounts and/or safe deposit boxes, the bank will have to regularly inform you of the observation of the inactivity and the consequences in case of maintenance of the inactivity during this time.

For more details, here are the main new elements from the provisions applicable to the accounts and the safe deposit boxes (this communication does not concern provisions relating to life insurance contracts, which must be applied by the insurers and not by the banks).

To note

This does not apply to you if you regularly conduct transactions on at least one of your accounts or if you regularly present yourself at your bank (by consulting your accounts remotely, by exchanging with your agency by mail or e-mail, by signing a proof of your presence at an in-agency appointment). And if your bank accounts are active, your safe deposit box is automatically considered active.

WHAT IS AN INACTIVE ACCOUNT?

A bank account is considered to be inactive if, at the end of a 12-month period, the following two conditions are met:

The account has not been the subject of any transaction except for the recording of interest and debit by the institution holding the account, of fees and commissions of any kind, or payment of products or reimbursement of capital or debt securities.

The account holder, his/her legal representative or the person authorized by him/her having not been present under any form whatsoever at the institution for that account or for any other account opened in his/her name.

The deadline is extended to 5 years for securities accounts, passbook accounts, term accounts and accounts opened in the context of savings products. When amounts deposited on these types of accounts are unavailable for a certain period of time under statutory or contractual provisions, the 5-year period begins to run at the end of the period of non-availability.

In the event of death of the holder, inactivity is recognized when, at the end of a 12-month period following the death, no heir or beneficiary has informed the bank of his/her wish to assert his/her rights over the assets and deposits registered therein.  

INFORMATION FOR INACTIVE ACCOUNT HOLDERS

If an account is deemed to be inactive within the meaning of the law, the bank must inform the account holder (or his/her beneficiaries in the case of a deceased holder).

This information comes into play once the inactivity is noticed and will be renewed every year. The holder may at any time reactivate his/her account by contacting the bank.

Without presentation of the account holder before the deadline imposed by the law, the account will be closed and the assets will be transferred to the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations after a period of inactivity of 10 years (3 years for deceased holders).

A final information notice is sent 6 months before the expiry of this period.

TRANSFER OF ASSETS AND DEPOSITS FROM AN INACTIVE ACCOUNT

When an account is declared inactive, the bank is required to transfer deposits and assets held in the account to the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations after 10 years from the last transaction or last presentation of the client or his representative (20 years of inactivity in case of a PEL [ownership saving scheme] alone).

For deceased holders, this deadline is reduced to 3 years after the date of death of the client whose account is inactive.

The deposit to the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations is preceded by the closure of the inactive account.

In the case of securities accounts or PEA [share savings plans], the bank is obliged to sell the securities before transferring the liquidation proceeds (in euros) to the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations. The Bank is not liable for any eventual loss of value generated by the liquidation.

To note: The non-transferable securities will continue to be deposited to the State at the end of the thirty-year prescription period.

The assets thus deposited in the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations, which are not claimed by the account holder or his/her beneficiaries, shall be definitively acquired by the State after a period of 20 years of the date of deposit. This period is set at 27 years for inactive accounts of which the owner is deceased.  

The information and documents concerning you (or your beneficiaries known to the bank) and those relating to your closed accounts will be archived by the bank in order to transmit them to the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations when you file (or one of your beneficiaries files) an application for the return of deposited assets. This application to the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations must take place before the end of the thirty-year prescription period, after which the funds are definitively acquired by the State (20 years after the funds have been deposited with the CDC, or 10 years after the deposit in case of PEL alone, or 27 years after the deposit in case of the death of the holder).

The Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations will examine each request for a refund in the light of the elements produced by the applicant and of the elements archived by the bank, in order to verify the identity of the applicant and determine the total sum to be repaid.

CASES OF INACTIVE SAFE DEPOSIT BOXES

A safe deposit box is considered inactive if there has been no presentation of the account holder (or beneficiaries for a deceased holder) or no operation in an account opened in his/her name for 10 years, and if, at the end of this period, the rental fee has not been paid at least once.

In case of inactivity, the bank informs the holder (or his/her heirs or known beneficiaries, if any) of the consequences linked to the inactivity of the safe deposit box. This information is renewed every 5 years.

After a period of 20 years from the date of the first unpaid payment, the bank is authorized to proceed to the opening of the safe deposit box and to produce its contents. The holder shall be informed of the implementation of this procedure 6 months before the expiry of this period. The Bank is authorized to liquidate the securities deposited in the safe deposit box and to sell the property deposited by public auction. The proceeds of the sale are repaid to the State, after deduction of the unpaid annual rental fees, the opening costs of the safe deposit box and selling costs.

No transfer is made to the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations.

CASES OF INACTIVE ACCOUNTS FOR OVER 30 YEARS ON JANUARY 1, 2016

From January 1, 2016, the date of entering into force of the law, after informing the client, the accounts whose inactivity has been effective for more than 30 years will be liquidated and transferred to the State.

CUSTOMER DATA PROCESSING

In order to comply with the obligations of the Eckert law, and in compliance with the provisions of Law No. 78-17 of January 6, 1978, as amended, relating to data processing, files and freedoms, the bank shall set up a data processing system in order to identify the deceased holders of inactive accounts or inactive safe deposit box.

For individual customers, once the account or the safe deposit box has been inactive, the bank is obliged to consult (annually for the accounts and every 5 years for the safe deposit boxes) the Répertoire National d’Identification des Personnes Physiques [National Directory of Identification of Physical Persons] (RNIPP) in order to investigate the possible death of its client.

This file, kept by INSEE, is the representation of registers of civil status for people born in France and in the Overseas Territories. It also lists persons born abroad or in overseas communities, provided that they have been registered with the Social Security.

As part of its legal obligation to consult the RNIPP, the bank is required to process, either automated or not, the personal data of its clients. Such personal data shall be processed solely for the purpose of identifying the deceased holders of inactive accounts and/or inactive safe deposit boxes.

Within the framework of this aim, the bank is required to transmit your personal data to its provider and to entities in its Group.

The bank has taken the necessary measures to ensure the protection of the information transmitted, in accordance with the data protection act.

The natural persons concerned by the processing operations have a right of access to the personal data concerning them and may also request that the incorrect, incomplete or outdated data be rectified, updated or deleted and, subject to a legitimate reason, that personal data concerning them should be processed. These rights may be exercised at the agency where the account is opened.

Furthermore

-           What happens to an inactive account? See the Mini Banking Guide N° 29 of December 2015 Published by the Fédération Bancaire Française

http://www.lesclesdelabanque.com/Web/Cdb/Particuliers/Content.nsf/DocumentsByIDWeb/8TMDBB?OpenDocument

  -           The texts of this new system

You can see the text of the Eckert law n° 2014-617 of June 13, 2014 (in particular L.312-19 and L.312-20 of the Monetary and Financial Code), Decree No. 2015-1092 of August 28, 2015 and the order of September 21, 2015.

https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr

  -           Caisse des dépôts

See useful information on the Caisse des dépôts et consignations and its role in the system established by the «Eckert» law.

http://www.caissedesdepots.fr/comptes-inactifs-et-contrats-dassurance-vie-non-reclames

Loi Eckert

REGLEMENTATION SUR LES COMPTES BANCAIRES INACTIFS ET CONSEQUENCES SUR VOS AVOIRS EN COMPTE

Depuis le 1er janvier 2016, de nouvelles obligations sont imposées aux établissements bancaires concernant la gestion des comptes bancaires inactifs.

La loi n°2014-617 du 13 juin 2014 dite loi «Eckert » renforce en effet l’encadrement juridique des comptes bancaires inactifs et prévoit qu’un compte devra être transféré à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations à l’issue d’une période d’inactivité de 10 ans (3 ans pour les titulaires décédés).

Cette nouvelle réglementation institue une définition des comptes inactifs et met à la charge des établissements bancaires de nouvelles obligations d’identification des comptes bancaires et coffres inactifs, d’information des clients et de leurs ayants droit et organise le dépôt des avoirs à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations puis leur attribution à l’Etat.

Tout client personne physique (majeur, mineur, majeur protégé) et tout client personne morale (entreprises, associations, acteurs de l’économie publique) peut être concerné par cette loi.

En cas d’inactivité de vos comptes et/ou de vos coffres forts, la banque devra régulièrement vous informer du constat de l’inactivité et des conséquences en cas de maintien de l’inactivité dans le temps.

Pour plus de précisions, voici les principales nouveautés issues des dispositions applicables aux comptes et aux coffres forts (cette communication ne concerne pas les dispositions relatives aux contrats d’assurance-vie qui doivent être appliquées par les assureurs et non par les banques).

A noter

Ce dispositif ne vous concerne pas si vous effectuez régulièrement des opérations sur au moins un de vos comptes ou si vous vous manifestez régulièrement auprès de votre banque (en consultant vos comptes à distance, en échangeant avec votre agence par courrier ou par e-mail, en signant une preuve de votre manifestation lors d’un rendez-vous en agence). Et si vos comptes bancaires sont actifs, votre coffre-fort est automatiquement considéré actif.

QU’EST-CE QU’UN COMPTE INACTIF ?

Un compte bancaire est considéré comme inactif lorsqu’à l’issue d’une période de 12 mois, les deux conditions suivantes sont réunies :

Le compte n’a fait l’objet d’aucune opération, hors inscription d’intérêt et débit par l’établissement tenant le compte de frais et commissions de toutes natures ou versement de produits ou remboursement de titres de capital ou de créance.

Le titulaire du compte, son représentant légal ou la personne habilitée par lui ne s’est pas manifesté sous quelque forme que ce soit auprès de l’établissement pour ce compte ou pour un autre compte ouvert à son nom.

Le délai est porté à 5 ans pour les comptes de titres, comptes sur livret, comptes à terme et comptes ouverts dans le cadre de produits d’épargne. Lorsque les sommes déposées sur ces types de comptes sont indisponibles pendant une certaine période en vertu de dispositions légales ou conventionnelles, la période de 5 ans commence à courir à la fin de la période d’indisponibilité.

En cas de décès du titulaire, l’inactivité est constatée lorsqu’à l’issue d’une période de 12 mois suivant le décès, aucun héritier ou ayant-droit n’a informé la banque de sa volonté de faire valoir ses droits sur les avoirs et dépôts qui y sont inscrits.  

INFORMATION DES TITULAIRES DE COMPTES INACTIFS

Si un compte est qualifié d’inactif au sens de la loi, la banque doit informer le titulaire du compte ( ou ses ayants droit dans le cas d’un titulaire décédé).

Cette information intervient une première fois lorsque l’inactivité est constatée et sera ensuite renouvelée chaque année. Le titulaire pourra à tout moment réactiver son compte en contactant la banque.

Sans manifestation du titulaire du compte avant l’échéance prévue par la loi, le compte sera clôturé et les avoirs seront transférés à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations à l’issue d’une période d’inactivité de 10 ans (3 ans pour les titulaires décédés).

Une dernière information est envoyée 6 mois avant l’expiration de ce délai.

TRANSFERT DES AVOIRS ET DÉPÔTS D’UN COMPTE INACTIF

Lorsqu’un compte est déclaré inactif, la banque est tenue de transférer les dépôts et les avoirs détenus sur le compte à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations à l’issue d’un délai de 10 ans à compter de la dernière opération ou de la dernière manifestation du client ou de son représentant (20 ans d’inactivité en cas d’un PEL seul).

Pour les titulaires décédés, ce délai est ramené à 3 ans après la date du décès du client dont le compte est inactif.

Le dépôt à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations est précédé de la clôture du compte inactif.

Dans le cas de comptes-titres ou de PEA, la banque est tenue de vendre les titres avant de transférer le produit de la liquidation (en euros) à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations. La Banque n’est pas responsable en cas de moins-value éventuelle générée par l’opération de liquidation.

A noter : les titres non cessibles continueront à être déposés à l’Etat au terme de la prescription trentenaire.

Les avoirs ainsi déposés à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations, qui ne sont pas réclamés à cette dernière par le titulaire du compte ou ses ayants droit, sont définitivement acquis à l’Etat à l’issue d’un délai de 20 ans à compter de la date de leur dépôt. Ce délai est fixé à 27 ans pour les comptes inactifs dont le titulaire est décédé.  

Les informations et documents vous concernant (ou concernant vos ayant droits connus de la banque) et ceux relatifs à vos comptes clôturés seront archivés par la banque afin de les transmettre à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations lorsque vous formulerez (ou un de vos ayants droits) une demande de restitution des avoirs déposés. Cette demande auprès de la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations doit intervenir avant le terme de la prescription trentenaire au terme de laquelle les fonds sont définitivement acquis à l’Etat (20 ans après le dépôt des fonds à la CDC, ou 10 ans après le dépôt en cas de PEL seul, ou 27 ans après le dépôt en cas du décès du titulaire).

La Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations examinera chaque demande de restitution au regard des éléments produits par le demandeur et des éléments archivés par la banque, afin de vérifier l’identité du demandeur et déterminer le montant des sommes à lui restituer.

CAS DES COFFRES-FORTS INACTIFS

Un coffre-fort est considéré comme inactif en cas d’absence de manifestation du titulaire (ou des ayants-droit pour un titulaire décédé) ou d’opération sur un compte ouvert à son nom pendant 10 ans et si, à l’issue de cette période, les frais de location n’ont pas été payés au moins une fois.

En cas d’inactivité, la banque informe le titulaire (ou ses héritiers ou ayants-droit connus le cas échéant) des conséquences liées à l’inactivité du coffre-fort. Cette information est renouvelée tous les 5 ans.

A l’issue d’un délai de 20 ans à compter de la date du premier impayé, la banque est autorisée à procéder à l’ouverture du coffre-fort et à réaliser son contenu. Le titulaire est informé de la mise en œuvre de cette procédure 6 mois avant l’expiration de ce délai. La Banque est autorisée à liquider les titres déposés dans le coffre-fort et à faire vendre judiciairement aux enchères publiques les biens déposés. Le produit de la vente réalisée est reversé à l’État, après déduction des frais annuels de location impayés, des frais d’ouverture du coffre et des frais de vente.

Aucun transfert n’est effectué à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations.

CAS DES COMPTES INACTIFS DEPUIS PLUS DE 30 ANS AU 1ER JANVIER 2016

A compter du 1er janvier 2016, date d’entrée en vigueur de la loi, et après information du client, les comptes dont l’inactivité est effective depuis plus de 30 ans seront liquidés et transférés à l’Etat.

TRAITEMENT DES DONNÉES DES CLIENTS

Pour répondre aux obligations de la loi Eckert, et dans le respect des dispositions de la loi n°78-17 du 6 janvier 1978 modifiée relative à informatique, aux fichiers et aux libertés, la banque met en place un système de traitement des données afin d’identifier les titulaires décédés de comptes inactifs ou de coffres inactifs.

Pour les clients personnes physiques, dès constat de l’inactivité d’un compte ou d’un coffre-fort, la banque a l’obligation de consulter (annuellement pour les comptes et tous les 5 ans pour les coffres) le Répertoire National d’Identification des Personnes Physiques (RNIPP) afin de rechercher l’éventuel décès de son client.

Ce fichier tenu par l’INSEE est l’image des registres d’état civil pour les personnes nées en France et dans les DOM. Il recense également les personnes nées à l’étranger ou dans les collectivités d’outre-mer sous réserve qu’elles aient été immatriculées auprès de la Sécurité Sociale.

Dans le cadre de son obligation légale de consultation du RNIPP, la banque est conduite à traiter, de manière automatisée ou non, les données à caractère personnel de ses clients. Ces données à caractère personnel font l’objet de traitement ayant uniquement pour finalité l’identification des titulaires décédées de comptes inactifs et/ou de coffres forts inactifs.

Dans le cadre de cette finalité, la banque est amenée à transmettre vos données à caractère personnel à son prestataire et à des entités de son Groupe.

La banque a pris les mesures propres à assurer la protection des informations transmises, conformément à la loi Informatiques et libertés.

Les personnes physiques concernées par les traitements disposent d'un droit d'accès aux données à caractère personnel les concernant et peuvent également demander à ce que soient rectifiées, mises à jour ou supprimées les données inexactes, incomplètes ou périmées et, s’opposer, sous réserve de justifier d’un motif légitime, à ce que des données à caractère personnel les concernant fassent l'objet d'un traitement. Ces droits peuvent être exercés auprès de l’agence où est ouvert le compte.

Pour aller plus loin

-           Que devient un compte inactif ? Consultez le Mini guide bancaire N°29 de Décembre 2015 publié par la Fédération Bancaire Française

http://www.lesclesdelabanque.com/Web/Cdb/Particuliers/Content.nsf/DocumentsByIDWeb/8TMDBB?OpenDocument

  -           Les textes de ce nouveau dispositif

Vous pouvez consulter le texte de la loi « Eckert » n° 2014-617 du 13 juin 2014 (notamment L.312-19 et L.312-20 du Code monétaire et financier), le décret d'application n° 2015-1092 du 28 Août 2015 et l'arrêté du 21 Septembre 2015.

https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr

  -           Caisse des dépôts

Consultez les informations utiles sur la Caisse des dépôts et consignations, et son rôle dans le dispositif instauré par la loi « Eckert ».

http://www.caissedesdepots.fr/comptes-inactifs-et-contrats-dassurance-vie-non-reclames